Begging for Feedback (sound like a dog)

Dear Readers,

I’ve been spending a lot of time researching what it’ll take to get Vacationland onto bestseller lists.  I believe I’ve accomplished the first and foremost task of writing a good story.  I do, however, have questions about the next critical elements: cover design, back flap description and price.

I realize that many of you bought the book because you know me and you didn’t think twice about the above questions.  I appreciate that level of faith.  Now I’m trying to drive sales outside this tight circle of friends and family.  I’d really like your ideas and insights.

Does the cover “grab” you?  Does it make you want to flip to the back to read the description?  Does it convey what might be inside the book?  How could it be different or better?

Does the description on the back entice you to know more?

Are you resistant to the price?  Apparently, the sweet spot price for an ebook is $2.99 to $5.99.  It’s a balancing act between attracting more readers or more revenue.

With today’s technology, I can remedy any and all of the above with a keystroke.  Again, I’d be very grateful if you took a moment to consider and then drop me an email at ngoodale@aol.com.

Thanks,

Nat

3 thoughts on “Begging for Feedback (sound like a dog)

  1. Ill make up your reply list: honestly, I think that the cover could be a bit more eye catching. I think the cover speaks to your style and the style of the book – which is appropriate but at the same time, it needs to grab the reader. To me the cover says “historical account of Maine” not exciting, rich plot lead story with great characters that you cant put down. I still think that going to the best seller list and seeing what it takes is a good idea. Send us some ideas – the ones that you can pallet – and we can rework it. I love you!

  2. Hi Nat,
    Thought on the cover. The image implies to me a very peaceful, tranquil environment that belies the title.
    Claire Clay

  3. I will buy the book and let Dick read it…..he will be your biggest critic !!!
    Looking forward to reading your book Nat !!

    Rachel R

Leave a comment